Eight countries set to be on government's 'green' travel list

Britons hoping to fly away for a summer vacation this year may only have eight countries to choose from, it is alleged.

The government is currently working on categorizing countries before May 17 – the date when non-essential international travel is expected to resume as part of Boris Johnson’s roadmap.

The list of countries was compiled by travel analysts using the government’s “risk criteria” for travel.

And they say there could only be eight green list destinations where travelers are allowed without restrictions.

The eight countries are: Australia, Israel, the United States, Gibraltar, Iceland, Malta, Ireland, and New Zealand.

Australia and New Zealand remain closed to foreign arrivals to protect their populations from coronavirus.

Non-essential international travel is currently prohibited in the UK and prisoners will be fined £ 5,000.

A report by Robert Boyle, former chief strategy officer at BA, which was circulated in the travel industry, said most of Europe will be “amber” or “red”. according to The Telegraph.

The list ranks countries based on vaccination rates, infection rates, variants and capacity for genome sequencing – the four criteria used by the UK government.

Green countries would be free to visit, amber would need to be isolated on return home, and red would mean isolating in a quarantine hotel.


Leave a Comment