Former lawmakers urge court to reject Trump effort to stymie Jan. 6 committee

Although many of the lawmakers who signed the letter retired long before Trump’s term in office, those who signed included Carlos Curbelo (R-Fla.), Who lost his re-election in 2018 and was an outspoken critic of Trump. This includes Reid Ribble, the Wisconsin Republican who announced his resignation amid Trump’s 2016 campaign for office, and Charles Boustany, the Louisiana Republican who was defeated in a Senate run that same year.

The legislature submitted its mandate under the umbrella of Protect Democracy, a non-profit government watchdog. The group argues that Congress must fully understand the attack on the Capitol in order to create an adequate remedy.

“His power to do this here will not be curtailed – and will likely be increased – if the targets of the investigation are a past president and incumbent members of Congress,” they write. “In these circumstances, no Donald Trump personal interests or controversial and unresolved issues of executive privilege could tip the scales against disclosure of these records to the special committee.”

Trump is suing the Jan. 6 Special Committee and National Archives for blocking the publication of his White House records to Congress. The committee and NARA are due to file a response to Trump’s lawsuit by Friday, and the case will come before Judge Tanya Chutkan next week.

Trump argues that the committee’s request for documents is too far-reaching to be legitimate, has no legislative purpose, and would deprive all presidents of executive privileges if allowed to do so. But the panel has brushed these claims aside, rejecting Trump’s extensive, categorical claims to privilege, noting that the privilege should be tightly tailored to protect sincere advice – and not to cover up alleged wrongdoing.

The January 6 committee is hoping for a swift resolution to its lawsuit to remove legal hurdles in obtaining critical information. Chutkan is among the strongest supporters of harsh treatment of the January 6 rioters, describing their crimes as a fundamental attack on democracy.

In their briefing, lawmakers say Trump’s ability to assert executive privileges is limited to acts he has taken in his official capacity as president – not in the service of his re-election or his private campaigning business.

Senate Minority Leader McConnell said the effort to overturn the election was not a presidential act; they were ‘a shameful breach of duty,’ ”they write. “Executive privilege does not apply, ending the investigation and failing the motion currently before the court.”

Democrats who signed the letter include former Senator Gary Hart, D-Colo. And former MP Henry Waxman, D-Calif. January is. The Democratic signatories also include former MPs Joe Crowley (DN.Y.), Barney Frank (D-Mass.), Bruce Braley (D-Iowa), John Barrow (D-Ga.), Lois Capps (D-Calif .) and Steve Israel (DN.Y.).

Leave a Comment