Full list of 33 countries which will force a stay at a UK 'hotel quarantine'

The Minister of Health has announced new rules for stays in hotel quarantine in England. 33 Red List countries are involved in the government’s plans.

Britons returning to the UK from these international destinations are required by law to quarantine at least 10 days in a given hotel.

The 33 countries on the list were selected based on the risk of Covid-19 variants in South Africa and Brazil.

The new rules come into effect on February 15th and provide for travelers to be taken directly from the airport to the designated hotel to spend the time of self-isolation.

Travelers must pay for their own stay, up to a cost of £ 1,750.

It’s not just the UK’s plan – similar hotels already exist in Australia and New Zealand, escorting travelers from airports to hotels where they need to stay in her room for the full self-isolation period, reports MirrorOnline.

Arrivals in the UK must be quarantined regardless of their destination.

Travel corridors have been temporarily closed, meaning anyone coming to the UK must be quarantined for 10 days. However, if he arrives from a country that is not on the “red list”, he can quarantine at home.

New rules also mean that anyone coming to the UK from abroad must have proof of a negative Covid-19 result within 72 hours of leaving. This now also includes two tests on the second and eighth day of the 10-day quarantine.

We have a more detailed guide that explains All new rules for quarantine hotels including penalties for rule violations.

Which countries are included in the quarantine hotel policy? We take a look at the full list below …

Full list of countries included in the Quarantine Hotels Policy

  1. Angola
  2. Argentina
  3. Bolivia
  4. Botswana
  5. Brazil
  6. Burundi
  7. Cape Verde
  8. Chile
  9. Colombia
  10. Democratic Republic of Congo
  11. Ecuador
  12. Eswatini
  13. French Guiana
  14. Guyana
  15. Lesotho
  16. Malawi
  17. Mauritius
  18. Mozambique
  19. Namibia
  20. Panama
  21. Paraguay
  22. Peru
  23. Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)
  24. Rwanda
  25. Seychelles
  26. South Africa
  27. Suriname
  28. Tanzania
  29. United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  30. Uruguay
  31. Venezuela
  32. Zambia
  33. Zimbabwe

The above list is subject to change. We will keep this page updated as changes are made.

At the time of writing, it is illegal for British people to travel abroad for leisure under national bans in England, Scotland and Wales. There are a handful of exceptions, but a vacation is not one of them. You can find out more in the Travel advice from the Federal Foreign Office.


Leave a Comment