Google Update: Google Introduces Auto-Delete For Location History, App And Web Activity

0
5
Google Update: Google Introduces Auto-Delete For Location History, App And Web Activity

Source: Fossbytes

Google Introduces Auto-Delete For Location History, App And Web Activity

Google Update: Google is a company that has grown a lot in the past decade. More and more people are getting connected to Google in some or the other way. It has created an ecosystem where you will eventually make an ID with Google. From Google Chrome to YouTube, we connect with Google in multiple ways. Everything we browse, and everywhere we go gets stored in our Google account. Users had the option to delete it as and when they wanted. However, now Google has come up with an upgrade of auto-deleting location history, app and web activity.

Google
Source: Fossbytes

How The Google Auto-Delete Will Work

The increased number of users of Google has raised questions about the privacy of a user with Google. Their CEO even had to face Congress in the US for the same. In order to improve the privacy of its members, Google has decided to delete the location history and web and app activity of its users in every 18 months. Previously, the users had to change their settings to auto-delete for the same. Moreover, Google will not change the setting for those who already have their setting changed to auto delete.

Google CEO Sundar Pichai faced the Congress two years ago to confess on data collection and privacy. He spoke on this new update and said, “As we design our products, we focus on three important principles: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control. Today, we are announcing privacy improvements to help do that, including changes to our data retention practices across our core products to keep less data by default. We continue to challenge ourselves to do more with less, and today we’re changing our data retention practices to make auto-delete the default for our core activity settings.”

Google
Source: Consumerreports

How Google Plans To Execute Auto-Delete

Google Update: The feature will come as a default setting for new users. Web and App Activity auto-delete will delete your information in every 18 months. The same time period goes for location history. Google has set the default period for auto-delete as 36 months for YouTube.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here