Holiday rules for dozens of countries change on Monday – what you need to know

Travel between the UK and dozens of long haul destinations such as Mexico and South Africa opened.

47 countries were removed from the red list at 4 a.m. on Monday, meaning arrivals from these locations no longer have to spend 11 nights in a quarantine hotel.

Meanwhile, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) has lifted its recommendation of non-essential travel to an additional 42 countries and territories due to the coronavirus pandemic.

This follows the removal of travel advisories to 41 locations in the past week.

The changes make it easier for people to get travel insurance for trips to these destinations.

They are part of a new guideline that no longer advises the British to avoid all but essential travel to countries outside the Red List for Covid-19 reasons, except in “exceptional circumstances”, for example when the local health system is overwhelmed.

Secretary of State Liz Truss said this allows people “to exercise personal responsibility” while Secretary of Transportation Grant Shapps said “restoring people’s confidence in travel is key to rebuilding our economy”.

Countries affected by both the easing of the travel advice and the reduction of the Red List include Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Indonesia, Mexico, Nepal, the Philippines, South Africa and Thailand.

The travel industry welcomed the changes and reported an increase in customer demand.

The sector has blamed quarantine and testing requirements for limiting its recovery.

Only seven countries will remain on the red list as of Monday, all in Latin America.

These are Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

Individuals arriving from these locations will still be required to enter a quarantine hotel at the cost of £ 2,285 for solo travelers.

You can find more stories from where you live at Near you


Leave a Comment