Home World News Nobel Peace Prize awarded to U.N. World Food Program for efforts to...

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to U.N. World Food Program for efforts to combat hunger

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to U.N. World Food Program for efforts to combat hunger

LONDON – The United Nations World Food Program on Friday the 2020 was awarded Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts to combat hunger and food insecurity around the world.

The body has been rewarded for “its contribution to improving the conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas and as a driving force in preventing the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict,” said chairman Berit Reiss-Andersen Nobel Committee.

In 2019, the Rome-based organization supported nearly 100 million people in 88 countries who are victims of acute food insecurity and hunger. It is the largest specialized agency in the United States and the world’s largest humanitarian group Hunger and promoting food security.

“In the face of the pandemic, the World Food Program has demonstrated an impressive ability to step up its efforts,” added Reiss-Andersen.

The head of the organization, David Beasley, looked dizzy Video posted on Twitter from Niger shortly after the news broke.

“This is the first time in my life that I am speechless,” said the former Republican governor of South Carolina.

Beasley was nominated for the WFP role by President Donald Trump in 2017. He said the price for the price rests with the “WFP family”.

“You are out there in the most difficult and complex places in the world, where there is war, conflict, climate extremes … You deserve this award. Wow. Wow. Wow,” he said.

Working around the world, WFP has made particular contributions to tackling hunger and famine in Yemen, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and South Sudan – countries plagued by conflict, poverty and climate change.

Download the NBC News App for breaking news and politics

The WFP continued Twitter It was “deeply humbled” to receive the award.

“This is in recognition of the work of WFP employees who risk their lives every day to provide food and aid to more than 100 million hungry children, women and men around the world,” it said.

United States Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said in a statement Friday that he was “thrilled” with the news.

In addition, the award highlighted the plight of millions “on the brink of famine,” exacerbated by threats from coronavirus and climate change.

“There is also a hunger in our world for international cooperation,” he added, applauding the recognition of humanitarian organizations that operate “beyond the realm of politics.”

The United Nations, which will celebrate its 75th anniversary in 2020, is no stranger to the Peace Prize.

The global body last won the award in 2001 together with the then General Secretary Kofi Annan “for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world”. U.N. Peacekeeping Forces won in 1998 and the United States Refugee Agency (UNHCR) won in 1981 and the Children’s Fund (UNICEF) in 1965.

Organizations such as the International Committee of the Red Cross and the International Campaign for the Abolition of Nuclear Weapons have also won the award in the past.

Last year, Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali received the award for his work promoting reconciliation, solidarity and social justice in the East African country and for signing an important peace agreement with neighboring Eritrea after decades of fighting.

The humanitarian aid from the World Food Program for the Gaza Strip is being dumped on the Israeli side of the Rafah crossing.Yoav Lemmer / AFP via the Getty Images file

Previous Peace Prize Winners This includes education activist Malala Yousafzai, who was shot by the Pakistani Taliban, the South African anti-apartheid hero Nelson Mandela and Martin Luther King Jr. for his nonviolent campaign against racism.

Four former US presidents have also claimed the award.

Former president Barack Obama in 2009 for his efforts to strengthen international diplomacy, Jimmy Carter in 2002 for finding peaceful solutions to international conflicts after leaving office. While Theodore Roosevelt received the award in 1906 and Woodrow Wilson 1919 after the First World War.

Along with tremendous prestige and immediate worldwide attention, the prize is awarded with 10 million kroner prize money ($ 1.1 million) and a gold medal, which will be presented at a scaled-down ceremony on December 10th, the anniversary of the Swedish language, is awarded in Oslo Industrialist Alfred Nobel Death.

The award was announced practically from Oslo, Norway due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

The final Nobel Prize in Economics will be announced on Monday.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here