Rules for foreign travel from England announced by Boris Johnson

Prime Minister Boris Johnson has confirmed that people will be able to travel to green list countries from May 17, as stated earlier.

The legal ban on all foreign vacation travel will be lifted next Monday, which means people can legally go to Amber or Red Listed countries.

However, the government guidelines will still not travel to Amber or Red List countries, even though it is legal to do so.

A new version of the NHS Covid-19 app is slated to go online on May 17 and will allow people to view their vaccination status for travel.

If they can’t get the app, they can ask the NHS for a letter checking their vaccination status to show to overseas who are asking for evidence.

A “Covid Pass” for domestic use in the UK will not be issued until later and is still under development.

Despite being on the green list, people cannot vacation in Australia, New Zealand or Singapore as they are closed to British tourists.

No quarantine is required when returning from a country on the green list.

Vacationers returning from an amber list country must self-isolate for at least five days and pay for two private PCR tests.

Anyone coming from a redlisted destination will have to spend 10 nights in a quarantine hotel at the cost of £ 1,750 for solo travelers.

Countries and territories on the Green List

  • Portugal including the Azores and Madeira
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Brunei
  • Iceland
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Falkland Islands
  • Israel

Countries now on the red list (Turkey, Nepal and Maldives from 4 a.m. on May 12)

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


Leave a Comment