The towns and cities in England with the strictest lockdown rules

The towns and cities in England with the strictest lockdown rules

Regions across England have now been categorized into one of three levels to determine what lockdown measures they will face.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson spoke to MPs in Parliament on Monday and later turned to the nation when he rolled out a three-tier system of local Covid alert levels in England.

He confirmed that the levels will be set to medium, high and very high and says that this new system will be simpler and more standardized

All of East Yorkshire is on a medium alert which will cover most of the country and consists of the current national measures, which came into effect on September 25th.

This includes the rule of six and the closure of pubs and restaurants at 10 p.m.

That means we agree with the majority of the country at the time.

However, there are other areas, notably the North West, North East, Yorkshire and the Midlands, that have more stringent restrictions.

The “high” alert has been introduced for many locations that already have lockdown restrictions. However, they will now be the same across the country.

This is primarily aimed at reducing household-to-household transmission by preventing any household mixing or indoor support bladders. The rule of six applies to outdoor areas, including private gardens.

The list of areas is:


  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

  • Manchester
  • Bolton
  • To bury
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan
  • Salford
  • Rochdale
  • Oldham



High Peak – the boroughs of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St. Johns, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South, and Hadfield North


  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Preston
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Burnley

West Yorkshire

  • Leeds
  • Bradford
  • Kirklees
  • Calderdale
  • Wakefield

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Rotherham
  • Doncaster
  • Sheffield


  • Newcastle
  • South Tyneside
  • North Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Sunderland
  • Durham
  • Northumberland

Tees Valley

  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-teas
  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool

West Midlands

  • Birmingham
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Wolverhampton
  • Walsall


  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston


  • Nottinghamshire
  • Nottingham City

The “very high” alarm level applies where the transmission rates are of greatest concern, based on an assessment of all available data and the local situation.

This includes higher cases in older and at-risk age groups, as well as the growth rate, hospital admissions, and other factors.

In these areas, the government will lay down a basis for banning indoor social intermingling and in private gardens, with the rule of six allowed in public spaces such as parks and beaches.

Check the coronavirus picture near you by entering your zip code below

Pubs and bars have to close and can only stay open where they operate like a restaurant. This means that extensive meals such as lunch or dinner are served.

You may only serve alcohol as part of such a meal.

People are advised not to enter or leave these areas.

The affected area is:

Liverpool City Region

  • Liverpool
  • Knowsley
  • Weird
  • St. Helens
  • Sefton
  • Wait



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here