UK's 'red list' – all 39 countries currently banned for travel

The addition of Bangladesh, Pakistan, Kenya and the Philippines brings the total number of countries on England’s Red List to 39.

Passengers arriving from or traveling through the four countries are excluded unless they are British, Irish nationals or UK residents.

Those exempt from the ban will be required to quarantine themselves in a government-approved hotel for 10 days upon arrival.

The list now includes almost all of South America and large parts of Africa, three countries in the Middle East and the three newcomers in Asia.

No European countries are currently on the red list, although ministers have reportedly discussed whether to add France as it is grappling with a third wave of coronavirus cases.

Almost 5,000 patients are in intensive care in France, almost the highest number during the previous November surge in coronavirus.

Here are the countries currently on the red list:


Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.


Bangladesh, Pakistan and the Philippines – all three will be put on the Red List on April 9 at 4 a.m.

middle East

Oman, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates.


Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Kenya will be placed on the Red List on April 9th ​​from 4 a.m.


Leave a Comment