Why is it called New Scotland Yard?

You’ve seen the famous rotating sign on TV, heard the name on the news, but why is it New Scotland Yard?

New Scotland Yard is home to the Metropolitan Police, which is responsible for overseeing London’s 32 boroughs.

The Met’s headquarters have relocated three times in its history, which began in the City of Westminster at 4 Whitehall Place in 1829.

Read more: Why Do People Say White Rabbits? Why pinch punch on the first of the month?

It then moved to the Norman Shaw Buildings in 1890, then moved to 8-10 Broadway in 1967 and finally saw the Met on Victoria Embankment in 2016.

The Broadway Police Headquarters was sold to the Abu Dhabi Financial Group in 2014 for £ 370 million.

Why is it called New Scotland Yard?

Scotland Yard got its name from the former public entrance to Whitehall Place headquarters, which faced the St. James area of ​​Westminster and officially housed the Scottish royal family when they visited the English capital.

Originally, Whitehall Place had an exit called Great Scotland Yard and when the site was expanded this exit was used as the main entrance. The name was later shortened to Scotland Yard and from then on the Met became synonymous with the name.

So much so that when the Met moved from Whitehall Place in 1890, the new headquarters was called New Scotland Yard.

Some of the Met Police stables are still in Great Scotland Yard 7, a nearly 200-year link between the past and the present.

How many cops does the Met have?

According to the Metropolitan Police, the police are the largest service in the UK, consuming 25 percent of the total police budget of England and Wales.

This is what the mead is made of:

  • 32,920 police officers
  • 9,791 police personnel
  • 1,229 officers in support of the police community
  • 1,801 special officers

Even so, London currently has the lowest number of officers per capita in 20 years.


Leave a Comment